Master Blasters face Lion Warriors in SJPL final today | Sunday Observer

Master Blasters face Lion Warriors in SJPL final today

9 January, 2022

Lion Warriors will take on Master Blasters in the grand finale of the first ever Sanath Jayasuriya Premier League (SJPL) Under-13 30-over cricket tournament at Bloomfield ground today.

The Cup final is scheduled to commence at 1.30 pm. It will be preceded by the Plate final between Universal Kings and Colombo Cubs at 8.30 am.

Master Blasters defeated Colombo Cubs by 43 runs at the Colombo University ground to book their berth in the Cup final. Master Blasters made 165 for five in 30 overs with ‘Player of the Match’ Chanul Athale cracking a sparkling 97-ball 94 spiced with 12 fours and two sixes. Chanul was the dominant partner in a second wicket stand of 84 with Tharusha Sandeep who made 25.

Colombo Cubs were all out for 122 in 26 overs despite a superb opening stand of 54 between Bihandu Senevirathne (25) and Santhul Wijeyeratne (32). They lost regular wickets thereafter with Hilaal Zain chipping in with 22.

Thevidu Wevalla and Tharusha Sandeep caused the damage returning identical figures of 3 for 24 while Dunitha Sethnal snared 2 for 12.

Master Blasters beat Universal Kings in the Eliminator earlier in the morning yesterday by 55 runs. Master Blasters were all out for 112 in 29.1 overs with Chanul Athale (25), Sadew Wijesekera (16), Thevidu Wevalla (17) and Akith Jarundika (19) contributing. Universal Kings were bundled out for 57 in just 14.5 overs with off spinner Dunitha Sethnal claiming 3 for 10 and pacer Akith Jarundika snaring 2 for 4. Sadev Wijesekera claimed 2 for 11. Yureen de Silva (17) was the only batter to get into double figures. Lion Warriors were the first team to enter the final when they romped to an eight-wicket win against Colombo Cubs in Qualifier One last Sunday.

Colombo Cubs made a formidable 177 for 9 in 30 overs with top contributions from Bihandu Seneviratne (33) and Ramika Lakwin (24). Ahmad Afdhal, Thiwan Shivshanker, Sandaru Meedam and Jason Fernando claimed two wickets apiece.

Warriors chased down the target in 25.5 overs scoring 178 for the loss of two wickets with Sandaru Meedum top scoring with a fluent 62 which was laced with six boundaries and a six. Opener Ahamed Afdhal who shared a 110-run stand for the second wicket with Sandaru, anchored the run-chase with an unbeaten 54 off 75 balls taking the Warriors home with Sahas Godage (25 not out).

Five academy teams from Sri Lanka cricket legend Jayasuriya’s academy which was founded in 2009 competed in this tournament from April last year in an LPL (Lanka Premier League)-style format with Qualifiers and Eliminator matches. Four players from other academies were also invited to represent the teams in this competition which resumed in December after being interrupted because of COVID-19 restrictions.

Dynamic Spartans failed to qualify for the knock-out stages after each team played eight matches apiece in the league round.

Lehan Peiris of Universal Kings is the leading scorer in the tournament so far aggregating 400 runs in eight matches with a top score of 92. Sandaru Meedam of Lion Warriors scored 369 runs in six matches with a top score of 101.

Left arm spinner Sadew Wijesekera of Master Blasters has the highest number of 19 wickets followed by Santhul Wijeyaratne (13) of Colombo Cubs.

Master Blasters hit the highest total of 208 for five in 29 overs against Universal Kings in a league match helped by blistering half centuries from Thevidu Wevalla (79) and Kawshika Kumarasinghe (42).