Taniya shows her class at Amateur golf | Sunday Observer

Taniya shows her class at Amateur golf

9 January, 2022

Winners and runners-up pose with their trophies. From left: Kayla Perera - runner-up, Taniya Balasuriya – winner, Yvonne Abhayaratne (sponsor), Sherine Balasuriya – winner Nuwara Eliya Golf Club Challenge Cup, Arika Wickramasinghe runner-up Nuwara Eliya Golf Club Challenge Cup

Taniya Balasuriya stamped her supremacy by winning the Sri Lanka Ladies Open Amateur Stroke Play golf championship for the third consecutive year at the RCGC course last December.

She obtained gross scores of 73, 72 and 71 in the three rounds which was ten shots ahead of her closest rival.

This prestigious tournament was played as a WAGR ranking tournament for women.

There was a keen tussle for the runner-up position between Kayla Perera, Kaya Daluwatta and Sherine Balasuriya. However, Kayla shot a superb round of gross 71 on day three to claim runner-up position.

The Nuwara Eliya Cup which is awarded to the best nett score over three rounds was won by Sherine Balasuriya (208) and in runner-up position was Arika Wickramasingha (215).

The Bronze Cup awarded to the aggregate gross score for handicaps 21-30 was won by the experienced golfer Roshini Sangani and in runner-up position was Vivienne Fowler Watt.

This Championship 2021 was sponsored by the Abhayaratne family in memory of Malin Abhayaratne, Past President of the Sri Lanka Golf Union and Past President and Captain of the Royal Colombo Golf Club.

“The golf played this year was of a high standard,” said Anouk Chitty the Captain of the women’s section of the Royal Colombo Golf Club and Chairperson of Ladies Events. Michael Perera Magala, the president of Sri Lanka Golf and Yvonne Abhayaratne presented the awards.