Malay CC enter semis in Governor’s Trophy cricket | Sunday Observer

Malay CC enter semis in Governor’s Trophy cricket

18 September, 2022

Colombo Malay Cricket Club remained unbeaten in Group A of the Governor’s Trophy cricket tournament to enter the semi-finals.

They played six matches and won five to get 25 points, with one match ending in a no-result.

Old Dharmapalian SC finished on top in Group B and won four out of six games to collect 20 points. They lost one with one ending in a no-result to give them 20 points.

Malay CC opening batsman Geeth Perera has been scoring consistently with a highest score of 60 from the first match. Azlan Samsudeen too has batted well and has a fifty in their game against Old Servatius SC.

Of the bowlers Mangala Pradeep has been a consistent wicket taker. His best figures were 5 for 22 in their match against Old Zahirians.

Madushika Sandaruwan also bowled well for best figures of 5 for 35 in the same encounter.


At Welagedara Stadium
Malay CC won by 121 runs

Malays CC: 237/9 (Geeth Perera 60, Chanul Athukorala 37, Lakshitha Kularathna 23, Mangala Pradeep 26, Kalana Madushanka 31, L. Madushanka 2/27, S. Krishan 2/28, A. Rashmin 2/53)

Kurunegala SC: 116 (Gayanga Kavinda 32, Pivithu Fernando 21, M Sandaruwan 2/11, G. Perera 3/19)

At Gampola
Malay CC win by 75 runs

Malay CC: 166 (Geeth Perera 22, Savindeu Uthsara 53, Mangala Pradeep 27, U. Warnakula 3/24)

Old Zahirians: 91 (Mohamed Munshif 24, Mohamed Askar 25, M. Pradeep 5/22, M. Sandaruwan 5/35)

At Uyanwatte
Malay CC win by four wickets

Old Servatius SC: 145 (Binara Sanketu 33, Rayantha Randula 21, Tharush Damindu 34, M. Sandaruwan 4/19, K. Madushanka 3/26)

Malay CC: 146/6 (Geeth Perera 32, Azlan Samsudeen 50, A. Lakmal 2/29, S. Rashmila 3/21)

At Irrigation ground Ratmalana
Malay CC win by two wickets

Moratuwa SC 119 (Harshika Fernando 24, Vinuja Ranasinghe 25, D. Tharaka 2/24, M. Pradeep 3/27, D. Samarakkody 2/20, M. Sandaruwan 2/20)

Malay CC: 122 for 8 (Savindu Uthsara 20, Dimuthu Samarakkody 19 n.o. Madushka Sandaruwan 14 n.o. M. Perera 5/23, V. Ranasinghe 2/36)

At Boyagane ground
Malay CC win by nine wickets

Sandalanka SC: 57 (Shane Wijesinghe 18, M. Pradeep 4/2, M. Madhushanka 3/27)

Malay CC: 58/1 (Geeth Perera 31 n.o. Kalana Madhusanka 25 n.o.)

At MCA ground
Malay CC win on DLS

Rio SC: 117 (Suehan Rashmika 45, D. Tharaka 4/26, M. Sandaruwan 3/16)

Malay CC: 111/9 (Dhananjan Edirisinghe 19, Savindu Uthsara 32 n.o. J. de Silva 3/13, S. Sankalpa 4/24)

At MCA ground
Malay CC win by 49 runs

Malay CC: 145 (Niman Umesh 50, Dimuthu Samarakkody 20, S. Perera 3/27, J. Pramod 4/38)

Hettipola SC: 96 (Janeth Pramod 26, Sasiri Adikari 16, M. Sandaruwan 5/23, M. Pradeep 2/37)

At MCA ground
Malay CC win by five wickets

Kandy YCC: 168 (Dhananjaya Maduranga 35, Yohan Ramameeramulla 51, Mohamed Kamil 39, M. Perera 2/24, N. Umesh 2/43, M. Sandaruwan 3/22)

Malay CC 172/5 (Kalana Madhusanka 54, Lashith Kularatna 23, Dhananja Edirisinghe 40, G. Kaushalya 2/42, C. Kumarasiri 2/27)