Schools Rugby Sevens display on soggy conditions | Sunday Observer

Schools Rugby Sevens display on soggy conditions

2 October, 2022

The inter-school Rugby Sevens took off at Nittawela, in the absence of schools like Zahira College, Trinity College the 2019 champions, S. Thomas’ College and Science College yesterday.

The event organized by Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Association provided young rugby players the chance to showcase their talent on the field.

The ground conditions were soggy and slippery and the players just could not display their best talents.

The last Sevens tournament took place in 2019, two years ago.

The teams were divided into eight groups from ‘A’ to ‘H’.

Group A: Isipathana College, St. Sylvester’s College, Murat College.

Group B: Dharmaraja College, Kingswood College, Sri Sumangala College

Group C: Vidyartha College, Lumbini College, Nalanda College Group D: Wesley College, St. Aloysius College, Carey College. Group E: St. Joseph’s College, St. Benedict’s College, Piliyandala Central

Group F: St. Peters College, Maliyadewa College, Sri Rahula College

Group G: St. Anthony’s College, D.S. Senanayake College, Dewapathirana College,

Group H: Royal College, Ananda College, Piyarathana College.

The second day’s play (today) will be played on a knock-out basis for the Cup, Plate, Bowl and Shield.

Cup Quarter Final line up:

*1st QF - Isipathana Vs Dharmaraja
*2nd QF - Vidyartha Vs Wesley

*3rd QF - St. Joseph’s Vs St. Peter’s
*4th QF - DS Senanayake Vs Royal