Prefects’ Induction Ceremony 2022/2023 of Lyceum English Dhamma School | Sunday Observer

Prefects’ Induction Ceremony 2022/2023 of Lyceum English Dhamma School

5 February, 2023

The Prefects’ Induction Ceremony of Lyceum English Dhamma School took place on January 21,2023 at the Hennpitamaulla Siriwardhanarama Temple, under the patronage of the Principal of Lyceum English Dhamma School Ven. Karanayaka Mulle Wimalawansa Thera, the chief guest Ven. Kannadeniye Shantha Thera, Principal, Lyceum International School Gampaha, Thilanka Karunarathna and Deputy Principal, Asanka Wickramasinghe.

Headmistress, Lyceum English Dhamma School, Vajira Kumarasinghe was also present.

Being Dhamma School Prefects is the first big step in the student leadership ladder. As students of the highest grade in the Dhamma school, the responsibilities they carry are a challenge and authority is duly granted to them to carry out the tasks at hand.

The Principal of Lyceum International School Gampaha told, the newly-appointed prefects and children that, “Every child is a leader, and we have appointed prefects to correct them and correct you”. She congratulated the newly-appointed student leaders and advised them to be always flexible and to never give up.

The badges were pinned on the newly-appointed prefects by the Principal of Lyceum International School Gampaha, the Deputy Principal and the Headmistress of the Lyceum Dhamma School. The senior prefects are Lalasha Rupasinghe, Hirushi Rajapaksha, Mihin Gulawita, Yansilu Wijesinghe and the junior prefects were Sayumi Wijesooriya, Sithulini Wijerathna, Sanuji Ariyasena, Pinithi Wanigarathna, Methuka Methnila. The Deputy Head Prefects were Layan Balasooriya and Senali Fernando.

The Head Prefect is Thinula Subasinghe. The taking of the oath was led by the incumbent Head Prefect of 2019/2020, Tharushi Ariyasena. The vote of thanks was proposed by the Head Prefect of 2019/2020, Methuja Anthony. He congratulated the newly appointed prefects.