Young Brigade takes red hot CR into a second century | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Young Brigade takes red hot CR into a second century

12 March, 2023

The triumphant CR & FC squad comprising Ashan Darling, Amith Gunasinghe, Lahiru Pavithra, Soyuru Anthony, Raveen de Silva, Vageesha Weerasinghe, Shehan Kelaniyagoda, Lasindu Karunathilake, Kavindu de Costa (captain), Thenuka Nanayakkara, Ruchira Ekanayake, Chathura Seneviratne, Manelkar Ruberu, Gemunu Chetiya, Mursheed Doray, Viduna Amaneth, Kalindu Nandilu, Kaveen Sri Vikum, Lakshan Muthunayake, Shehan Adikari, Senura Perera, Eranda Harshana and Achitha Radeshan pose with the Clifford Cup after beating Navy SC 24-18 in the final

The young CR and FC outfit led by skipper Kavindu de Costa produced a magnificent performance to beat Navy SC 24-18 in the final of the Clifford Cup played at the Race Course ground in Colombo last Sunday and the result could not have come at a better time when the Red Shirts are celebrating a hundred years of rugby in the island.

Undoubtedly one of the key figures in the side who brought this victory to CR was their play maker and man of the match Chathura Seneviratne who scored a total of 16 points in a grand game.

He stunned everyone who was present when he landed a 57-metre penalty at a crucial stage of the match like putting the icing on the cake.

CR’s success had a huge amount of significance as they won the Clifford Cup after 17 years having last won the title way back in 2006 under the leadership of flanker Pavithra Fernando and the head coaching of former Royalist Abdullah Yousuf.

CR and FC collected their points from two tries, one conversion and four penalties after leading 10-9 at half time while Navy SC relied heavily on their two place-kickers full back Samuel Maduwantha and winger Thilina Weerasinghe, who were responsible for all their points through six penalties.

For the winners the two tries were scored by centre Seneviratne and prop forward Lahiru Pavithra while the solitary conversion and the three penalties were slotted in by Seneviratne himself and the other penalty fired across by fly half Thenuka Nanayakkara.

Incidentally in the semi finals CR beat Police by 23 points to 20, thanks to a superb try scored by hooker Amith Gunasinghe (ex Navy SC hooker), four minutes from full time to get in to the all important Clifford Cup final.

Before the try CR were trailing Police 16-20.

In the other semi final Navy SC edged out a fighting Army SC 16-13 in extra time after the scores were deadlocked at 13-13 at full time.

Navy’s win came through a brilliant 45 metre drop-goal put over by winger Thilina Weerasinghe.

Navy SC women win title

Navy SC’s women’s team beat Army SC 14-5 in the women’s knock-out final at the same venue last week.

For the winners Dilini Polhewage and Gayani Randuna scored a try each while Shanika Madhumali made the two conversions while Army SC’s Nisansala Piyumi scored solitary try which went unconverted.