The Police Service in Sri Lanka | Sunday Observer

The Police Service in Sri Lanka



Every country has its own rules and regulations. The police are an organization introduced by the government to protect these rules and regulations in a country. The police service is divided into five categories. They are the Criminal Investigation Department (CID), Child and Women Bureau, Traffic Department, Environmental Protection Department and Dog and Horseman Department. The Special Task Force (STF) is also attached to the police.

These services of the police are under the command of the Inspector General of Police (IGP). Each division is headed by a Deputy Inspector General (DIG) who covers a single province. Under him, there is a Senior Superintendent of Police, who is the head of the district. Under these leaders there are several officers to govern the areas attached to each police station. There is a special Police College to train the trainees before they become officers.

Inspector Sabahan made history as the first police officer who died in action. Sir Richard Aluvihare was the first Sri Lanka (then Ceylonese) IGP.


W.A.Pasindu Anjana Weerakkody,

Grade 9E,

Ku/ Royal International School, Kurunegala.