Dananjaya, Ratnakumari win SLAVF’s Best Athlete Awards | Sunday Observer

Dananjaya, Ratnakumari win SLAVF’s Best Athlete Awards

Sri Lanka Army Volunteer Force (SLAVF) held its annual Inter Regiment Athletic Meet recently at Diyagama Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium. The athletes were able to set up many records showcasing their talents and skills during the three days of acticity.

Organized on par with international standards, the closing ceremony of the SLAVF Inter Regiment Athletic Meet - 2018 was graced by Lieutenant General Mahesh Senanayake, Commander of the Army.

Over 750 Army athletes, representing all volunteer Regiments of the Army vied honors against their fellow-athletes with an indomitable spirit for success. The Meet comprised of 48 track and field events, the annual meet mirrored the enthusiasm of the military athletes.

Final day’s program covered events, such as 400m Women’s Final, 1500 m Men’s Final, 100 m Women’s Final, 100 m Men’s Final, Physical Training Display, Tug of War Women’s Final, Tug of War Men’s Final, 4×100 m Women’s Final and the 4×400 m Men’s Final. A separate spectacular Cultural Show and a March Past enhanced the evening.

Athletes of the Sri Lanka Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (SLEME) secured the first place with 284 points while Sri Lanka Light Infantry (SLLI) athletes won the second place with 211 points.

Instructors of the Panagoda Army Physical Training School (APTS) contributed to the closing ceremony well by staging an impressive high standard Physical Training show.

Major General Piyal Wickramaratne, Commandant, SLAVF welcomed the gathering and in his brief address traced the SLAVF history and its unique sports achievements. Giving a warm welcome to the Commander of the Army and all attendees, he appreciated the co-operation given to him by all participants in the three-day of the Games.

Recruit L.G Dananjaya of SLEME and Lance Corporal E.M.M. Ratnakumari of Sri Lanka Army Women’s Corps 5 (SLAWC) were adjudged as the Best Athlete and Best Female Athlete of the meet respectively for the year 2018.