Flood victims’ compensation payments completed in Matara | Sunday Observer

Flood victims’ compensation payments completed in Matara

17 June, 2018
Recipients of title deeds browse through the documents.
Recipients of title deeds browse through the documents.

The final instalment payment of the compensation to flood victims were handed over yesterday by Minister of Finance and Mass Media Mangala Samaraweera.

Speaking at the ceremony held in Matara he stated that the every person residing in Matara who was affected by the inclement weather received compensation.

“Every person who suffered loss due to the flood in May 2017 has been compensated by the Government irrespective of their cast, ethnicity, religion or political affiliation,” he said.

At the same ceremony, deeds to alternate lands were also provided to persons who were displaced due to the 2004 tsunami.

“In reality more than 75% receiving compensation today would have voted for the ‘Pohottuwa’ at the last Local Government Election” the Minister added.

Over 200,000 persons residing in the Matara district were displaced due to the unexpected flood in May last year. The National Insurance Trust Fund (NITF) assessed the damage incurred by 5137 persons who suffered loss at Rs. 1598 million.

“Each individual case was carefully assessed before compensation was paid. In earlier years, every person was paid a flat rate of Rs 25,000/- each and those whose homes were totally destroyed were paid only Rs. 100,000/-. In the past Government servants did not qualify to receive compensation under the above schemes. I have been told that some of you have received as much as Rs 1.7 million” he said.

Provincial Minister for Education, Land and Highways and SLFP Organizer for the Matara District Chandima Rasaputhra said that the people of Matara should not miss out on this golden opportunity as a Member of Parliament representing the Matara district holds the portfolio for Finance. “We should forget about our political affiliations and work together to bring as much development to Matara” he said.

District Secretary Pradeep Rathnayaka and Divisional Secretary Darshana Wickremarachchi also addressed the recipients.