Chamari Atapattu wins Sports Personality of the Year award | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Chamari Atapattu wins Sports Personality of the Year award

31 January, 2021
Chamari Atapattu
Chamari Atapattu

Sri Lanka women’s cricket team skipper Chamari Atapattu was picked as the most outstanding Sports Personality of the Year at the sixth SILK sports awards ceremony last week .

This was the first virtual sports awards ceremony organised by

Atapattu who is the most successful batter in the team is the first Sri Lankan women’s cricketer to represent franchise cricket and also finished as most successful player at the recently concluded Women’s IPL held in the UAE.

“I am very happy to win this highest award which always encourages us to go forward in a cricket career. I think this is a very special moment in my life as recipient of the highest award at the SILK awards ceremony, said Atapattu.

The Jury Committee was headed by co-chairmen Rear Admiral Dr Shemal Fernando and National Sports Development Foundation president Harsha Abeykoon.

Sri Lankan cricket allrounder Isuru Udana was selected the most popular sport personality of the year while former Nalanda College skipper Avishka Perera was adjudged most outstanding schools sports personality of the year.

Former Sri Lankan paceman Chaminda Vaas was most outstanding Generous Sports Personality of the year while Sri Lankan sprinter Yupun Abeykoon who is based in Italy was selected upcoming sport personality of the year.

The lifetime achievement Silk award was won by veteran cricket coach Nelson Mendis while the Duncan White Silk award for the sports excellence was won by champion motor racer Dilantha Malagamuwa.

The Army was honoured for making the most outstanding contribution to talent development of sports while LPL champions Jaffna Stallions team won the most outstanding team of the year award.

International cricket commentator Roshan Abeysinghe was also felicitated as was Haritha Perera who was selected as the best sports presenter.

Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa was the chief guest while Suresh Subramanium the President of the National Olympic Committee was the guest of honour.