Ginige and Madurangi win TT titles | Sunday Observer

Ginige and Madurangi win TT titles

21 February, 2021
Chameera Ginige the men’s winner (right) and Ishara Madurangi the women’s champion pose with their trophies
Chameera Ginige the men’s winner (right) and Ishara Madurangi the women’s champion pose with their trophies

Sri Lanka women’s top ranked table tennis player Ishara Madurangi came back strongly to win the recently concluded Western Province tournament played at the S. Thomas’ Gymnasium Mt Lavinia.

Madurangi the most experienced player in the National team said paddlers faced major issues like not having to participate in local or international tournaments for many months and unable to maintain their skills. However, they are lucky to have participated in two tournaments during these two months.

“In the first tournament held in Kegalle for the Mahipala Herath Challenge Trophy I lost in the semi-final to Madumali Priyadharshani of the Navy. I focused on this tournament and practiced hard and was fortunate to win the title by defeating the previous champion Priyadharshani in the final,” said Madurangi.

At 31 years Madurangi said that age is not a barrier to perform well. Her first coach was Anura Lal who began teaching the skills and now it is the former national champion Rohan Sirisena with whom she is working hard to go forward. She also noted that maintaining fitness is important.

“Paddlers from China, Japan, Malaysia and Indonesia are very talented and hold world rankings. Valuable experience can be gained by playing against them. My next aim is to win a medal at the 2022 Commonwealth Games,” said Madurangi.

Chameera Ginige from Sri Jayewardenepura University won the Open men’s title defeating 14 year old Senura Silva in the final.

The doubles events were not conducted due to health regulations and the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka (TTASL) plans to conduct ranking tournaments before the forthcoming International tournament to give local paddlers more experience.


Women’s open quarter finals,

Ishara Madurangi (Ports Authority) beat Ayla Chitty (Ladies College, Colombo), Erandi Warusavithana (Raigam Marketing) beat Bimandi Bandara (Hillwood College, Kandy) 11/8, 4/11, 11/8, 11/7, Hansani Piyumala (Navy) beat Jithara Warnakulasuriya (Ladies College Colombo) 4/11, 11/7, 11/9, 11/2, Mudumali Priyadarshani (Navy) beat Thanushi Rodrigo 11/6, 11/7, 11/9.

(semi finals):

Ishara Madurangi beat Erandi Warusavithana 11/1, 11/3, 11/4, and Mudumali Priyadarshani beat Hansani Piyumala 11/8, 11/13, 11/5, 11/5.


Ishara Madurangi beat Mudumali Priyadarshani 11/6, 11/9, 11/7.

Men’s open quarter finals:

Krishan Wickramaratne (VOBSC) beat Imantha Udanjaya (Army) 11/5,11/7, 11/5, Chameera Ginige (Uni. Sri Jayewardenepura) beat Prasad de Silva (Road Dev) 5/11, 8/11, 11/9, 11/4,11/9, Supun Warasuwithana (Uni. Moratuwa) beat Chanul Dulsen (Dharmasoka, Ambalangoda) 11/5, 11/6, 5/11, 12/10, Senura Silva (Ananda College) beat Milinda Lakshitha (OMBC) 10/12, 11/5, 11/8, 11/9.

Men’s semi finals:

Chameera Ginige beat Krishan Wickramaratne 11/8, 3/11, 11/7, 10/12, 11/7, Senura Silva beat Supun Warasuwithana. 11/7, 11/9, 10/12, 12/10.

Men’s final:

Chameera Ginige bt Senura Silva 7/11, 11/9, 11/5, 9/11, 11