Western Wind blows up the rest, carry away Governor’s Cup | Sunday Observer

Western Wind blows up the rest, carry away Governor’s Cup

18 April, 2021
Jockey Vivek rides Western Wind to win the Governor’s Cup
Jockey Vivek rides Western Wind to win the Governor’s Cup

In spite of heavy underfoot conditions, a thrilling and fitting finale was scripted to the RTC Governor’s Cup 2021 when Western Wind, ridden by jockey Viveknot stole the limelight and beat two of the best fillies – Alcazaba and Spirited Touch – to clinch an enthralling win at the Racecourse in Nuwara Eliya this week.

Gamini Jayaratne and his wife Chamari, the owners of the horse Western Wind that won the Governor’s Cup

The event was delayed when a sudden downpour occurred during the Governor’s Cup which happened for the first time in its history of nearly to 150 years. Yet, the horse race loving public, who gathered in large numbers, remained at the venue to witness the race.

Western Wind took the lead from the setoff in the Class 1 1800metre race for the prestigious silverware, which is now 145 years old. The field of nine runners went past the legendary Grandstand, once at the start and then the culmination, which forced all spectators on their feet.

Jockey Vivek made the owner Gamini Jayaratne proud to claim a stunning victory from Alcazaba, who looked threatening in the final two furlongs.

Reigning title holder Spirited Touch fell back to third position after jockey J. Chinoy navigated Alcazaba to the fore from the rear, looking threatening as usual and almost regaining her lost form as a two-time Governor’s Cup winner.

Eventually Western Wind sealed the win by three lengths from Alcazaba, who was four lengths ahead of Spirited Touch. The win by Western Wind helped the Jayaratne Stables regain the Governor’s Cup after five years after the coveted title went to the hands of Edwards Stables thrice and Fearless Stables and Stud Farm once each.

Glittering, the winning horse of the Mayor’s Cup with its owner from Edwards Stables along with jockey J. Chinoy and trainer SD Mahesh

Prior to the grand finale jockey Vivek gave his stable masters their first win with the RTC Queen’s Cup steering Another Ace to an inspiring win in the race for Class 2 horses.

This was the third successive year that Jayaratne Stables secured the RTC Queen’s Cup. When the 2000 metre race was at its end with two furlongs remaining, Star Scholar and Silver Streak were battling out to finish ahead of one another, but Vivek made a sudden breakthrough from the outside to clinch a thrilling and uncertain win to give Hasanga Jayaratne his only win in the RTC Governor’s Cup 2021.

Glittering, ridden by jockey J. Chinoy and owned by Edwards Stables, made another stunning finish to win the RTC Mayor’s Cup powered for Class 3 horses in a 1600 metre race. Glittering pipped out Vigorous, ridden by S.D. Janaka, by a whisker as Olive, ridden by jockey Aneel, finished third by ten lengths.

Fearless Stables and Stud Farms completed a double in the Vegibest International Cup with Honorious and Torpedo making it a home-and-home battle in the Class 4 race of 1400 metres.

Jockey Aneel eventually steered Honoriousto a win by half-a-length from Torpedo, ridden by local boy K. Sanjeewan. Jockey J. Chinoy rode Zulu Fantasy to a third place finish.

The Governor’s Cup 2021 was organized and conducted by Royal Turf Club (RTC) with EFL partnering as main sponsors. 


Sports Ministry Challenge Cup for Class 5 Horses 1400m

1. Miss Ivory (K. Sanjeewa/KosalaSenaratne)

2. Waiting for Glory (K. Vaibhav/Hasaga Jayaratne)

3. Goldie Girl (J. Chinoy/Edwards Stable)

Vegibest International Cup for Class 4 1400m

1. Honorious (Aneel/Fearless Stables and Stud Farm)

2. Torpedo (K. Sanjeewan/Fearless Stables and Stud Farm)

3. Zulu Fantasy (J. Chinoy/Edwards Stables)

RTC Mayor’s Cup for Class 3 1600m

1. Glittering (J. Chinoy/Edwards Stables)

2. Vigorous (S.D. Janaka/Ajantha de Soyza)

3. Olive (Aneel/Fearless Stables and Stud Farm)

RTC Queen’s Cup for Class 2 2000m

1. Another Ace (Vivek/Hasanga Jayaratne)

2. Silver Streak (L. Dayalan/Ramsis Peter Fernando)

3. Star Scholar (R. Vaibhav/Gamini Jayartne)

RTC Governor’s Cup for Class 1 1800m

1. Western Wind (Vivek/Gamini Jayaratne)

2. Alcazaba (J. Chinoy/Edwards Stable)

3. Spirited Touch (Aneel/Fearless Stables and Stud Farm)