Three vie for top post at netball election | Sunday Observer

Three vie for top post at netball election

25 April, 2021

Three candidates are expected to compete for the top post of the Netball Federation at an election which is scheduled to be held on May 25.

Former Sports Director General Ranjani Jayakody, Gampaha district MP Kokila Gunawardena and former Sports Director Padma Beddewela have submitted their names for this top post.

Both Jayakody and Gunwardena will contest the Netball election for the first time.

However the Netball election committee will consider objections for the nominations until April 27.

Former Supreme Court Judge Upali Abeyratne former Education Ministry Sports Director General Sunil Jayaweera and former Sports Director Pathma Siriwardena are the Netball election committee members.

Ranjani Jayakody who is the present Chief Secretary of the Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council, already holds the post of president of the Matale District Netball Association and president of the Government Services Sport Association.

Former Netball president Trixi Nanayakakra has come forward to support Ranjani Jayakody while former president Victoria Lakshmi made a last minute withdrawal of her nomination for the top post and has come forward to support MP Kokila Gunawardena who is presently member of the Gampaha District Netball Association and former athlete at the Holy Cross College Gampaha.

Padma Beddewela the former Selection committee chairman is also supportive of Kokila Gunawardena. Former players and officials have already begun to frown on the contest taking place saying some of the candidates are more keen on personal agendas than national interests.

“I expected all of them to come together for the sake of the country. But they are all divided,” said one former player.

Following are the nominations of the Netball Federation election:

President – Ranjani Jayakody, Kokila Gunawardena, Padma Beddewela

Secretary- Champa Gunawardena, Subhani Udawatte and Kumudini Gomes

Deputy President – Padma Beddewela , Vajira Pushpakumari and Carril Tozer

Treasurer- Padmini Gorakage and Sanjeewani Pieris

Vice President (3 posts) - Champa Ranjani, Vajira Pushpakumari, Ranjani Vineetha Herath, TMD Kumarihami and Abhitha Narumaraja

Assistant Secretary – Subhani Udawatte, Champa Gunawardena, H.M Saputhanthri, GMP Weerasuriya, RIA Seetharamani, IJ David

Assistant Treasurer- Vindana Dayaratne, Layani Renuka Kuruppu

Tournament Secretary – Shiromi Kuruppu, Anusha Mayurani