Joseph Vaz SC and Navy women carry away volleyball’s Galaxy Cup | Sunday Observer

Joseph Vaz SC and Navy women carry away volleyball’s Galaxy Cup

2 May, 2021

Pabasara Fernando the skipper of Joseph Vaz Sports Club receiving the Galaxy Cup from chief guest Fu Zhang Yuo the Chairman of the main sponsor Boashang Lanka Investment Holdings along with President of SLVBF Kanchana Jayaratne. Also in the picture are National Youth Council Chairman Damitha Wickramasinghe and Secretary General SLVBF A.S. Nalaka

Navy women and Joseph Vaz Sports Club Wennappuwa came up with brilliant performances to win the first ever Galaxy Cup Super League Volleyball Championship last week at the National Youth Services Council Indoor courts.

In the women’s final Navy beat Hirdaramani Sports Club three sets to one (22 - 25, 25 - 19, 25 - 10, 25-23) while Jozeph Vaz SC defeated the Ceylon Electricity Board by three sets to two (25-20, 25-22, 25-19, 23-25, 16-6).

Navy women lost the first set 25-23 after a gruelling battle and won the second set 25-19 to draw level.

With this victory they used all their experience and talents in the next set to take a firm grip on the game winning it at 25-10 to take the lead 2-1 as Hirdaramani could not withstand the attacks made by the Navy women.

The fourth game became a ding-dong battle until the end as the Hirdaramani lasses too fought gallantly but could not prevent the Navy women from winning 25-23 to take the set and also the first ever Galaxy Cup and the highest prize money offered for a Volleyball Championship in Sri Lanka worth Rs. 1,000,000.

In the men’s category Joseph Vaz SC lost the first set (25-20) to the Ceylon Electricity Board but they came back to win the second and third sets to take the lead 2-1.

But CEB fought back to take the fourth set and draw level at 2-2.

However Joseph Vaz proved too much for the CEB team as they won the deciding set 16-4 to win the final and carry away the Galaxy Cup in the men’s segment.

The newly elected President of Sri Lanka Volleyball Federation Kanchana Jayaratne and Fu Zhang Yu the Chairman of the sponsor Boashang Lanka Investment Holdings who was the chief guest presented the Awards.

Women Champions: Navy

First runner up: Hirdaramani SC

Second runner up: Mahauswewa Sports Club

Special Awards:

Best Server: Kavisha Lakshani Perera (Navy)

Best Receiver: A. Supipi Prabodha (Navy)

Best Setter: Dilki Charuka Ranaweera (Navy)

Best Attacker: Dilukshi Harshani Senarathne (Hirdaramani SC)

Best Blocker: Shakira Lakchani (Navy)

Best Defender: Sunethra Priyadharshani Wijesinghe (Navy)

Most Valuable Player: Kavisha Lakshani Perera (Navy)

Men - Champions: Joseph Vaz Sports Club

First runner up: Ceylon Electricity Board

Second runner up: Army Sports Club

Best Server: Chamath Dilshan (Joseph Vaz SC)

Best Receiver: J.W. Miran Santhusha (Joseph Vaz SC)

Best Setter: Maleesha Ravishan (Joseph Vaz SC)

Best Attacker: Lakshitha Bandara (CEB Sports Club)

Best Blocker: Ashen Malintha (Joseph Vaz SC)

Best Defender: Dulara Chandrasiri (CEB Sports Club)

Most Valuable Player: Chamath Dilshan(Joseph Vaz SC)