LPL teams drop name branding | Sunday Observer

LPL teams drop name branding

17 October, 2021

Organisers of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) have decided to drop the branding of teams and instead go by the names of towns and cities in the country.

As a result the defending champions Jaffna Stallions will take the field in the second edition of the tournament merely as Jaffna that will take on last year’s runners-up Galle Gladiators who will now be called simply Galle in the first game on December 5.

The qualifying round matches will be played at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo and the four-team play-offs and final (on December 23) at the Mahinda Rajapaksa stadium in Hambantota.

The other teams in the fray are Colombo, Kandy and Dambulla making up a five-team championship that will also have several international players mostly from the West Indies and Pakistan. (TBR)