Airline employees take off with inaugural cricket Sixes | Sunday Observer

Airline employees take off with inaugural cricket Sixes

16 January, 2022

The inaugural six-a-side tournament organised by the Sri Lanka Association of Airline Representatives is to take place on January 22, at the Shalika ground, Narahenpita with play commencing at 8.30 a.m.

The Association founded in 1993 has 35 affiliated members from all airlines handling passenger and cargo transportation but the staffers have not been able to gather to meet and have friendly relations since its inception.

The newly appointed chairperson Thanuja Lankatilleke took the initiative in organising this sporting event along with the support of a few heads of airlines who willingly came forward to make this a reality.

She added that with the introduction of this event 24 airline representatives have confirmed their participation.

She further said that interaction at an occasion of this nature will also help address the common issues and other interests of these airlines in a cordial manner to safeguard its policies and improve on the future development of the industry.

The sponsors for the event are Classic Travel (Platinum), Acorn Travels (Gold ), Expolanka Freight Ltd. (Gold) Chance Travels (Silver) and Aitken Spence Aviation (Bronze).

According to the organisers they have added a rule to include a female player to every team giving an opportunity for female staffers also to take part in this tournament.

While doing so the organisers also have decided to award to best women’s player of the tournament in addition to the best men’s player of the tournament. The other special Awards on offer are for best batsman, bowler and man of the final.

The teams that have confirmed their participation are Jetwin Ai, Acorn Aviation A and B, Induky Aviation, Aitken Spence Cargo, Qatar Airways, Ethiopian Airlines,Singapore Airlines,Civil Aviation Authority SL A and B, Inite Ventures, M&C Aviation, Oman Air, Air Global, Turkish Cargo, Cathay Pacific Airways, SriLankan Airlines, Mack Air, ITQ, Lanka Pvt. Ltd. Airport & Aviation Services, China Eastern Airline, Jazeera Airways, Air Arabia and Air India Cargo.

The teams are in eight groups of three teams each before entering the quarter finals.