Scientists make valuable contribution to mankind | Sunday Observer

Scientists make valuable contribution to mankind

8 May, 2022

In today’s world, it is imperative that science find solutions to complex global problems to ensure the sustainability of human kind and life on earth.

Solutions to such challenges are often found through collaborative research and the untiring efforts of scientists belonging to a variety of disciplines where the contribution of energetic and brilliant young scientists plays a key role and is of extreme importance.

The Sri Lankan Academy of Young Scientists (SLAYS) comprises early and mid-career scientists where the membership is inclusive of representation by gender and scientific disciplines. SLAYS was set up in 2012 under the auspices of the National Academy of Sciences of Sri Lanka (NASSL).

The academy serves as the voice of young scientists and always tries its best to resolve issues faced by them. SLAYS functions with the main objectives of identifying science leaders of the future, recognizing and directing them to make a positive impact on society, foster local, international and interdisciplinary collaboration among young scientists, provide a platform for career and self-development, support exchange visits for young scientists that strengthen scientific skills and networking, promote mentorships with nationally and internationally renowned scientists.

Many events are organized annually by SLAYS to achieve the above objectives. SLAYS was the pioneering organization in introducing the world renowned 3MT thesis competition to Sri Lanka. Annually this competition and the SLAYS conference is organized by SLAYS on a glandular scale.

Many outreach activities and workshops of value to young scientists are organized by SLAYS throughout the year. SLAYS has also collaborated in many activities conducted internationally. Some examples of international collaborations include, participation of the Global Online Young Academies meeting, organizing International Poster presentation competition 2020 together with the young academies of Bangladesh (NYAB), India (INYAS), Thailand (TYSA); E-Capture photography competition 2021 Organized by: INYAS, NYAB, Nepal Young Academy (NaYAN), Workshop on predatory academic practices in South Asia 2022- organized by NaYAN & SLAYS (2022) and representing steering Committee for Asian Young Academies.

SLAYS is governed by a council comprising young scientists representing different disciplines. SLAYS council for the year 2022/2023 was inaugurated in 2022 March which has 15 council members.

These members represent public and private higher education organizations and institutes. The president of the SLAYS council for the year 2022/2023, Dr. Thilini A. Perera is a lecturer in Plant Biotechnology at the Department of Plant Sciences, Faculty of Science, University of Colombo. She had been a member of SLAYS from the year 2017 and had held many prestigious positions in SLAYS and has represented SLAYS in many important occasions. She is also a former 3MT gold medalist, and a first runner up.

Dr. Chulantha Jayawardena, Director, Undergraduate Studies and Senior Lecturer Department of Earth Resources Engineering, University of Moratuwa, serves as the secretary.

Dr. Upul Kumarasinghe, Senior Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Applied Sciences, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Dr. Nimshi Fernando, Lecturer, Academic Development Committee, Department of Research, CINEC Campus, Dr. Kalpani Ratnayake, Senior Lecturer, Department of Cosmetic Science, Faculty of Health Sciences, CINEC Campus, serve as treasurer, president-elect and rapporteur, respectively.

The council members of the SLAYS 2022-2023 include Dr. Chameera Udawattha, Senior Lecturer, Department of Estate Management and Valuation, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Dr. K.D.K. Peshala Kumari, Senior Lecturer, Department of Basic Sciences, Faculty of Allied Health Sciences, General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University, Dr. Rumesh Liyanage, Lecturer, Faculty of Technology, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Dr. Pradeep Samarasekere, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Computing and Technology, University of Kelaniya, Dr. Meran Ediriweera, Lecturer, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo, Dr. Dinusha N. Udukala, Senior Lecturer, College of Chemical Sciences, Institute of Chemistry Ceylon, Dr. Nimeera Weerarathne, Speech-Language Pathologist, CEO, The Bridge International Inst, Ms. Jivendra Wickramasinghe, Assistant Lecture, Department of Nuclear Science, Faculty of Science, University of Colombo, D. Subath Amaradasa, Research Assistant, Department of Physics, University of Ruhuna, and Praneeth Ratnayake, Research Assistant, Department of Zoology and Environment Sciences, Faculty of Science, University of Colombo.