Inter club T20 league attracts 26 teams | Sunday Observer

Inter club T20 league attracts 26 teams

22 May, 2022

The defending Champions SSC will meet Badureliya CC at the CCC ground at the opening game of the Major League T20 inter-club cricket tournament scheduled to begin today (22).

The Major League T20 inter-club tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket will see the participation of the 26 first-class clubs.

This will be good opportunity for the local cricketers to showcase their skills as it will be used as a guideline to pick the players for the third Lanka Premier League (LPL) which is scheduled to be held in July.

This tournament will run till June 6 when the final will be played. A majority of the national players can be expected to prove their loyalty towards their clubs. They will also endeavour to prove their worthiness for selection to the national team with the Australia-Sri Lanka series expected to commence soon after this.

All eyes will also focus on the six Sri Lankan players who are doing service at the IPL now. They are Wanindu Hasaranga (CCC), Maheesh Theekshana (Army SC), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (BRC), Dushmantha Chameera (NCC), Chamika Karunaratne (NCC) and young Matheesha Pathirana (NCC) are expected to shine.

The three venues Colts, CCC and SSC grounds will host two matches a day

The Groupings:

Group A: CCC, SSC, Saracens SC, Air Force SC, Badureliya CC, Lankan CC, Ace Capital CC.
Group B: NCC, Ragama CC, BRC, Panadura SC, Chilaw Marians CC, Nugegoda SWC.

Group C: Tamil Union, Negombo CC, Colts, Police SC, Kandy Customs CC, Sebastianites.
Group D: Army SC, Kurunegala YCC, Moors SC, Galle CC, Bloomfield, Navy SC