All-Island Open netball only for the best | Sunday Observer

All-Island Open netball only for the best

2 October, 2022

The best netball players in the country will once again get the opportunity to excel and display their talents in the sport when the Western Province Netball Association resume their Eva All-Island (Open) Netball Tournament after a break of three years. This time it will be held on December 3 and 4 at the Rifle Green (Air Force) ground at Slave Island in a carnival atmosphere.

This was a showpiece netball tournament for the past 66 years, where all leading players participated in and the selectors had the opportunity to spot the best talented players.

“The tournament is Open to all clubs, mercantile firms, government institutions, banks, universities and schools (local and international) affiliated to their respective associations,” said Sandya Rajapakse the president of WPNA.

The tournament is also sponsored by Eva International Cosmetics Limited (ICL) Brands Private Limited for the 26th year.

“A lot more can be done to encourage youngsters to progress in the game. It is also conducted at the end of the year which is a good time to celebrate the event with many people getting together,” said Shanthi Bhagirathan Group Director of Capital Maharajas.

The tournament will be played in four divisions and one player can represent only one team.

The A division is for Open men and women while the B division is for Open women only (over 20-years).

In the schools division it will be for those in the under-15 (born on or after 1/1/2008), under-17 (born on or after 1/1/2006) and under-19 (born on or after 1/1/2004).

The veterans division is for women over 40 years.

Entries close on Friday November 25 with the Secretary, Rio Ramlan at 6/8 De Alwis Place, St. Rita’s Road, Mount Lavinia while entries could also be clarified by dialing 0777 216 150.

Entry forms can be collected from the tournament secretary KD Chanpa Ranjini at 5/680, Perera Gardens, Pellawatte, Battaramulla (Tel: 0718 150 829) or from Rio Ramlan.

Draw will be held on November 30 at the Sports School, Independence Avenue, Colombo 7 at 5 pm.