Eleven teams in the fray at MCA D division cricket | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Eleven teams in the fray at MCA D division cricket

20 November, 2022

The Mercantile Cricket Association’s (MCA) ‘D’ division cricket tournament that began last weekend (Nov. 12/13) will see eleven teams participating in two groups that will run up to the end of December.

They will contest for the CBL Munchee Trophy with Ceylon Biscuits Limited (CBL) continuing their sponsorship for the third year.

The tournament will be played over 40 overs and the first round will be played on a league basis. After that the first four teams from each group will enter the knock-out stage consisting seven matches including the final.

The participating teams are:

Group ‘A’: MAS Bodyline (Pvt.) Ltd., Hemas Group, Colombo Dockyard, Trelleborg Lanka, Melwire Rolling and Delmege Group.

Group ‘B’: Airport & Aviation, National Development Bank, Central Finance, MAS Unichela and David Pieris Group.

Special awards on offer are for the best batsman, best bowler, man of the final and man of the series.

Nawaloka Hospitals emerged champions in the last tournament by beating Melwire Rolling by 15 runs in the final played on February 5, 2022, at the MCA ground.

The official sponsorship handing over ceremony along with the media briefing was held on Wednesday, November 16 at the MCA.