Ousman wins Best Journalist of the Year award | Sunday Observer

Ousman wins Best Journalist of the Year award

4 December, 2022

Versatile sports writer Allaam Ousman was awarded best English Journalist of the Year at the Sabuddhi Sports Literature Awards ceremony held at the Sports Ministry’s Duncan White Auditorium on Friday.

Ousman counts more than 35 years in the field of journalism having started off his career at The Island newspaper in 1985 before moving overseas for stints at the Bahrain Tribune, Gulf Daily News, Gulf Today, Khaleej Times and Emirates 24/7.

He rejoined the Sri Lankan media enrolling at the Daily News, Sunday Times and later the Sunday Observer as deputy sports editor where he continues to contribute.

A product of Royal College, Ousman had an illustrious sporting career at school where he boxed at the highest level at the all-island Stubbs Shield meet.

Nevil Anthony of Virakesari won the best Tamil Journalist of the Year prize while Indrajith Subasinghe of Aruna won the best Sinhala Journalist of the Year award.

The Best Sports Photographer award was won by Pradeep Dambarage of Aruna and The Morning newspaper.

The Best Daily Sports Page award was won by the Dinamina and the Weekend paper award was won by Aruna while the Silumina won the Merit award of the weekend papers.

The Best Academic sport’s book award was won by Sri Lanka Athletics official recorder Saman Kumara Gunawardena for his book “100 Years of Sri Lanka Athletics.”

The highest award for Sports Literary Person of the Year was won by South Asia’s fastest man Yupun Abeykoon and his award was received on his behalf by Sri Lanka Athletics president retired Major General Palitha Fernando.

Sabuddhi Gold lifetime award was won by former Olympian marathon runner Wimalasena Perera who took part in the 1968 Olympics.

State Minister of Sports Rohana Dissanayake, Telecom Mobitel chairman Rohan Fernando, Sports Ministry Secretary Dr Amal Harsha de Silva and Sports Director General Amal Edirisooriya graced the occasion.