35th Lux Sarasaviya Awards fete local cinema greats after massive comeback



ANCL Chairman Prof. Harendra Kariyawasam and Mrs. Indika Kariyawasam, Veteran Actress Malini Fonseka, Minister of Highways and Mass Media Dr. Bandula Gunawardena and Mrs. Tamara Gunawardena



Information Dinith Chinthaka Karunarathne on behalf of Narada Thotagamuwa for 'Frozen Fire' ('Ginen Upan Seethala').



2019 Best Cinematography – the Frozen Fire ('Ginen Upan Seethala'). Dhanushka Gunathilaka receiving the award from Secretary Ministry of Mass Media Anusha Palpita.



2019 Best Film Editing - Malitha Hagoda receives the award on behalf of 'Dakala Purudu Kenek' from ANCL Chairman Prof. Harendra Kariyawasam.



The Ranapala Bodinagoda Memorial Literary Award was presented to Siri Kahawala by Minister of Ports, Shipping and Aviation Nimal Siripala de Silva.



2019 Best Actor – Bimal Jayakodi 'Dakala Purudu Kenek' receiving his award from veteran actor Sanath Gunathilake



Kuruwita Bandara by Minister of Justice Dr. Wijeyadasa



2019 Best Actress - Nita Fernando 'Panshu' receiving her award from Unilever Director Marketing

Shamara Silva



Sarasvati Abhinandana - Opening performance

by the Channa Upali Performing Arts

2019 Best Music Director Award received by music director Sumudu Guruge on behalf of 'Sansare Dadayakaraya' from ANCL Director Finance Dr. Sunil Jayantha Navaratne.



Prof. Lester James Peries Memorial Ranathisara Award presented to Sathischandra Edirisinghe by Foreign Minister Ali Sabry, PC.



director Chinthaka Lakmal Jayakodi by ANCL Director Operations Attorney-at-Law Manjula Makumbura for 'Panshu'.

2019 Best Cinematic Film Award received by Prof. Sunil

Ariyarathne and H.D. Premasiri for

'Wijeyaba Kollaya'.



on behalf of 'Dakala Purudu Kenek' from Minister Dr. Bandula Gunawardena

28, with Transport, Highways and Mass Media

Minister Dr. Bandula Gunawardena as Guest of

films screened in 2019 and 2020; its return after

five years was a ray of hope for fans of local cin-

ema. The event could not be held for five years

due to the Covid-19 pandemic and the subse-

quent economic crisis. The organisers decided

to honour the films screened in 2019 and 2020

as they would otherwise not get due recogni-

wasam, Director Legal and Administration At-

torney-at-Law Janaka Ranatunga, Director Op-

erations Attorney-at-Law Manjula Makumbura,

Director Finance Dr. Sunil Jayantha Navaratne,

Editorial Director veteran journalist Sisira Paranatantrie, ANCL administration, Sarasaviya ed-

itor-in-chief Dr. Nuwan Nayanajit Kumara and

Unilever's (the event's main sponsor) Marketing Director Shamara Silva worked to make the

in the four years beginning from 1960 to 1963

were feted in the very first Sarasaviya Awards

held in 1964. Incidentally, some of the songs

from the films that won awards at that inau-

gural Sarasaviya Awards were featured at this

down memory lane.

year's awards ceremony, taking the audience

phases and in the first phase the five best films

Back then, the awards consisted of two

It is important to note that all films screened

star-studded event a resounding success.

ANCL Chairman Prof. Harendra Kariya-

This year's Lux Sarasaviya Awards feted

he 35th Lux Sarasaviya Awards were held under the patronage of

Veteran Actress Malani Fonseka

at the BMICH, Colombo on March



Film Award from Veteran Actress Malani Fonseka for 'The Newspaper'.





Late Veteran Actor Jackson Anthony was honoured at Thursday's ceremony. Here Mrs. Kumari Munasinghe getting the award from Minister Dr. Bandula

Gunawardena



2019 Best Songwriter - Lalith Rathnayake

('Wishama Bhaga') receiving the award from Public

Trustee Gihan Pilapitiya



Premarathne and Senali Fonseka.



Veteran Actress Dilhani Ekanayake presents the 2020 Most Popular Actor Award to Kalana Gunasekara.



ANCL Director Finance Dr. Sunil Jayantha Navaratne presents 2020 Best Songwriter Award to Prof. Sunil



2020 Best Film Editing award received by Sithum

Samaraweera on behalf of 'Panshu' from

2019 Best Supporting Actress award received by Chulakshi Ranatunga from ANCL Director Editorial



Director Somarathne Dissanayake and Producer Renuka Balasuriya received the 2020 Most Popular Film Award from Veteran Actress Sabitha Perera for



Wimal Karunathilaka Thilak Perera Nissanka Wijerathne Wasitha Patabandige Shan Rupassara

Sudath Nishantha Dushmantha Mayadunna Marlon Karunarathne Chinthaka Kumarasinghe Rukmal Gamage

selected by readers' votes were re-screened. Before each film was screened, all the artistes, producer, director, actors cameramen and so on were honoured on stage amidst cheers from the audience. At the time eager movie fans lined up outside the theatre to see the actors and actresses as they arrived and if they were lucky a word or

two, or even an autograph with their idols. Cin-

ema historians say that in some cases fans even

got their clothes and bodies autographed. The second phase of the Sarasaviya awards was held in a grand manner, and although the awards show was completed within a few days, film historians say that the big night took three months to organise. The Sarasaviya Awards statuette which is

wathi) was the brainchild of the world-renowned sculptor Tissa Ranasinghe. The final judgment is given by an independent and impartial panel. The panel of judges watches each film while preserving the confidentiality of the final judgments and

aesthetically done in a manner paying hom-

age to the patron deity of creativity (Saras-

conclusions. The Sarasaviya Awards commenced with the grandeur of traditional drums and dances accompanied by the dignitaries. It goes without saying that Sri Chandraratne Manavasingha's devotional lyrics and Pandit Amaradeva's melodious music for the Saraswathi Pooja awakened the memory of their greatness.

Fifty-six awards were presented at the BMICH on Thursday; Samadhi Laksiri won Best Actress of 2019 for her performance in *'Dakala Purudu Kenek'*, Neeta Fernando won Best Actress of 2020 for 'Panshu', and Bimal Jayakodi won Best Actor of 2019 for 'Dakala Purudu Kenek'. Kumara Thirimadura won Best Actor of 2020 for 'The Newspaper', Producer Mohamed Adamli won Best Film -2019 for the movie 'Dakala Purudu Kenek' and Minister Dr. Bandula Gunawardena won 2020's Best Film award for producing 'The Newspaper'.

It goes without saying that in an era where local cinema is facing many challenges, The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited (ANCL) organising the Sarasaviya Awards for the 35th time is a great initiative for all art lovers. The ANCL is grateful for sponsors Unilever Lux and Commercial Bank, two partners who have always been with ANCL and also the world of cinema and arts.



Hemal Ranasinghe receives Lux Popular Actor Award from Veteran Actress Sabitha Perera.



2020 Best Singer - Harshana Dissanayake 'Tsunami' receiving the award from MP Rear Admiral (rtd.) Dr. Sarath Weerasekara



Uniliver Marketing Director Shamara Silva presents Lux Popular Actress Award to Shanudri Priyasad.



Dinakshi Priyasad and Saranga Disasekara perform 'Galana Gangaki Jeewithey'.