Red Star SC Premier League Div. I Champs | Sunday Observer

Red Star SC Premier League Div. I Champs

Red Star Sports Club, Dehiwala won the Premier League Division I Championship - 2017 while Ratnam Sports Club, Kotahena became the runner up when they defeated Comrades SC 10 goals to nil in the final fixture of the tournament last Saturday.

The Ratnam SC who kept out of the Dialog Champions league last season will make a comeback to play in the in the Champions League in the coming season along with winner of the tournament Red Star SC.

In the final game between Red Star SC and Thihariya Youth SC the former came up with fine performance record to five goals to two win over their rivals to seal the Premier League Division I title.

N.C.M. Rahuman became the hero in the first half for the winning side Red Star SC scoring two goals to go for the lemons 2-0. He put his side in to the lead netting in two goals in the early part of the first session of play. The second session began and Red Star took full control of the game and it was Peter Sylvanus who came up with flying colors to net in three goals to take his side to an unbeatable position.

The two goals for losers came only in the second session of play off the A. Evans and Oduro Charles in the 77th and 90th minute respectively. This game was played at the CR & FC ground

Ratnam crush Comrades SC 10-0

Ratnam SC defeated Comrades SC by 10-0 at the Mudduwa Ground, Ratnapura. Ratnam SC taking full control of the game from the word go returned to the pavilion for the break with a 6-0 lead. These goals were scored by Murugan Yogarajah (2) P.S. Maduranga (18), O.Olawale (26 & 29), Mohamed Siraz (30 & 62 minutes), M.F. Mohamed Aman (69), John Chinedu (77), Mohamed Musharaf (86) for Ratnam SC.

Serendib win 3-0

In another game lowly placed Red Sun SC suffered humiliating defeat when they were trounced by Serendib SC three goals to nil at the Kelaniya Football Complex ground.

Highest Goal Scorer A. Evans of Thihariya Youth was awarded the Golden Boot Award.