Siva is new Chairman of Trinity Scrummage | Sunday Observer

Siva is new Chairman of Trinity Scrummage


Old Trinitians Rugby Scrummage elected Duraisamy Sivasubramaniam as Chairman at their Annual General Meeting held last Saturday at the Orient Club.

Siva, as he is popularly known was a top front row forward who sported the Trinity College jersey in 1983 for the first time under the leadership of Ashan Ratwatte and some of his first team mates were R. Gunasekara, Rohan Abeyakoon, D. Ratwatte, Hassan Ally, Manoj Jayatissa, J. Hadunge and J. Perera. He also won the coveted Lion, that was the one and only award for that season.

Straight from school he joined Kandy Sports Club and played for many years and was later a Committee member, Treasurer, Vice President and Rugby Chairman for well over ten years. It was under his Chairmanship that Kandy SC won the first League title in 1994 and all in all he was involved with Kandy SC for nearly 25 years.

The other new appointees to the Scrummage are Vice Chairman Adrain Basnayake and Channa Pathirana, Secretary Dinesh Nugegoda and Treasurer Amil Ramanathan. Filling the role as Committee members are M.T.L.J. Perera, N.L.K. Ratnayake, Jannindra Dunwuille, Thaksala Hettiarachchi, Shalindra Wickramasiri, Murad Ramzeen and Haris Omar.

The new Committee’s main aim will be to strive to improve the operations and focus on providing well-run and a viable rugby promotion.