Trinity take inaugural trophy | Sunday Observer

Trinity take inaugural trophy

Kavishka Senadeera
Kavishka Senadeera

Trinity College spinner Kavishka Senadeera captured a match bag of 11 wickets for 83 as his team beat Nalanda College by 47 runs in the inaugural cricket encounter for the Mahela-Sanga Challenge Trophy at Campbell Place last weekend.

Senadeera claimed 5 for 52 and 6 for 31 in the two innings of Nalanda in a low scoring game.

Though St. Joseph’s beat St. Sylvester’s Kandy by eight wickets at Darley Road the only highlight was the bowling of Shalinda Seneviratne who captured 5 for 43 in the first inning of St. Sylvester’s.

Kaumal Nanayakkara of Prince of Wales Moratuwa also bowled well to capture five wickets in each innings of President’s College Kotte to win by an innings and 96 runs.

Prince Fernando of Prince of Wales College also batted well to top score with 85 runs and Pasindu Pathum also contributed with 68 runs for the Cambrians.

There were also some good performances by the boys from Moratu Vidyalaya in their drawn encounter against Zahira.

Nadith Mishendra captured 7 for 34 for Moratu Vidyalaya.

Thereafter, Madushan Dilakshana scored 100 runs in Moratu Vidyalaya’s first innings.

Zahira did well in the second innings to scored 201 for 5. Mohammed Shadullah scored 93 runs and Dulsara Shaminda scored 51 runs.

Kanishka Ranthilakage scored 58 and 56 for Ananda College in their drawn encounter against Dharmapala. Kamesh Nirmal scored 55 for Ananda. Bandaranayake Gampaha beat Debarawewa NS by an innings and 25 runs. Sasitha Madanayake scored 95 runs in their first innings. Chathura Jayanath claimed 5 for 90 for Debarawewa NS.

ST Wijewardane scored 55 runs in Debarawewa NS’s second innings while Sisitha Madanayake claimed 5 for 21 for the Gampaha school. Shenal Dangalla scored 68 runs for Wesley College who beat St. Anne’s by nine wickets. Pasindu Tennakoon captured 6 for 21 for St. Anne’s. Ravindu Fernando captured 5 for 42, Pasindu Ushetti took 5 for 54, Kevin Perera scored 67 runs and Amantha Perera scored 57 for Maris Stella Negombo in their game against Maliyadeva Kurunegala. Supun Sumanaratne scored 90 runs for Maliyadeva.

Kavishka Krishan scored 134 runs and Sithum Sanjana 84 runs for Dudley Senanayake Central Tholangamuwa in their drawn encounter against Kegalu Vidyalaya as Pulasthi Atapattu scored 77 for Kegalu Vidyalaya.

Chamod Sandaruwan scored 104 runs and Heshan Madusanka captured 6 for 106 runs for Piliyandala Central against Sri Devananda. Sasanka Nirmal 5 for 18 and 6 for 51 for Holy Cross Kalutara who beat Anuradhapura Central by eight wickets.

Sumeth Madushan 62, Shanaka Yashodana 60 and Charuka Jayasekara 51 not out batted well for Mahinda Rajapaksa NS Homagama in their drawn game against St. John’s Nugegoda.

Isuru Chamara scored 100 and Ayesh Gimahana scored 85 runs for Shastrananda MV Dehiwala who defeated DS Senanayake Central Meerigama by an innings and 221 runs. Dilruksha Suwaris took 5 for 10 runs for the Dehiwala boys.

Bowlers continued to dominate during mid week and helped their schools win by big margins. DS Senanayake College did well to beat Lumbini by eight wickets at the BRC ground. Chamath Yatawara captured 5 for 14 runs to bundle out Lumbini for 74 in the first innings. Later, Muditha Lakshan claimed 6 for 32 to wrap up Lumbini for 142 runs in their second innings.

DS Senanayake also did not make big scores and were shot out for 164 runs in their first innings with Prabath Madushanka claiming 5 for 36 runs. DSS had to score only 53 runs for two wickets to win.

DS Senanayake from Meerigama also emerged winners beating Ranpokunagama MV by an innings and 75 runs at Meerigama.

Sampath Kumara (63), C. Malinga (56) and D. Dulkith (55) batted best for DSS.

Ranpokunagama MV scored 120 and 108 in their two innings. RDP Gunaratne top scored with 72 runs while Hasun Senadeera claimed 5 for 17 for DSS.

Kavindu Umayanga captured 5 for 26 and 5 for 14 for Sri Sanghabodhi MV who beat CWW Kannangara Central Hunumulla by an innings and 52 runs.

Azhar Central from Akurana also emerged winners by an innings and 17 runs over Wayamba Royal. Mohamed Akram scored 82 runs and Mohamed Shahim scored 68 runs for Azhar Central. Pahan Bandara took 5 for 76 for Royal.

Royal scored 99 in their first innings with Mohamed Yousuf capturing 5 for 21. They scored 165 in their second innings with Kavishka Wijeratne scoring 54 not out. Mohamed Shakeer claimed 5 for 25.