CSE makes changes to S&P Sri Lanka 20 index | Sunday Observer

CSE makes changes to S&P Sri Lanka 20 index

The Colombo Stock Exchange (CSE) has made changes in the S&P Sri Lanka 20 index constituents made by S&P Dow Jones Indices at the 2019 year-end index rebalance.

A revision of the S&P SL 20 methodology in March 2017 established the practice of a semi-annual rebalance of the index (previously conducted annually), which is set to take place during June and December each year.

The revision also established the inclusion of non‐voting ordinary shares listed by the respective companies of the S&P SL 20 Index, provided that such shares meet relevant liquidity requirements.

The exclusions and inclusions as announced by S&P Dow Jones Indices, effective from December 23, 2019 (after the market close of December 20) are presented below in alphabetical order.


1. HNB Assurance (CSE ticker: HASU.N0000)

2. Melstacorp (MELS.N0000)

3. Softlogic Holdings PLC (SHL.N0000)


1. LOLC Finance (LOFC.N0000)

2. Overseas Realty (OSEA.N0000)

3. Tokyo Cement Co. (TKYO.N0000, TKYO.X0000)

The S&P SL 20 index includes the 20 largest companies, by total market capitalization, listed on the CSE that meet minimum size, liquidity and financial viability thresholds.

The constituents are weighted by float-adjusted market capitalisation, subject to a single stock cap of 15%, which is employed to reduce single stock concentration. The S&P SL 20 index has been designed in accordance with international practices and standards.

All stocks are classified according to the Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS), which was co-developed by S&P Dow Jones Indices and MCSI and is widely used by market participants throughout the world.

To be eligible for inclusion, a stock must have a minimum float-adjusted market capitalisation of Sri Lankan rupees (Rs) 500 million, a six-month median daily value traded of Rs 0.25 million, have been traded at least 10 days of each month for the three months prior to the rebalancing reference date, and have positive net income over the 12 months prior to the rebalancing reference date.

For information, including the complete methodology, please visit: www.spindices.com

From December 23, 2019 the stocks in the S&P Sri Lanka 20 in alphabetical order are:

1. Access Engineering (AEL.N0000)

2. Aitken Spence (SPEN.N0000)

3. Chevron Lubricants (LLUB.N0000)

4. Commercial Bank of Ceylon (COMB.N0000, COMB.X0000)

5. DFCC Bank (DFCC.N0000)

6. Dialog Axiata (DIAL.N0000)

7. Expolanka Holdings (EXPO.N0000)

8. Hatton National Bank (HNB.N0000, HNB.X0000)

9. Janashakthi Insurance Co. (JINS.N0000)

10. John Keells Holdings (JKH.N0000)

11. Lanka IOC (LIOC.N0000)

12. LOLC Finance (LOFC.N0000)

13. National Development Bank (NDB.N0000)

14. Overseas Realty (OSEA.N0000)

15. People’s Leasing & Finance (PLC.N0000)

16. Sampath Bank (SAMP.N0000)

17. Softlogic Life Insurance (AAIC.N0000)

18. Teejay Lanka (TJL.N0000)

19. Tokyo Cement Co. (TKYO.N0000, TKYO.X0000)

20. Union Bank of Colombo (UBC.N0000)