Princess of Wales girls win title | Sunday Observer

Princess of Wales girls win title

Princess of Wales College won the Division II schoolgirls cricket championships beating Kegalu Balika Vidyalaya in the final by four wickets at Thurstan College ground on Friday.

The game which was reduced to 25 overs gave Kegalu a total of 158 for five wickets with Dilshani Kumarasiri (50 n.o.) and skipper Gimhani Munaweera (30) contributing with the bat.

Princess of Wales chased the target in style with 13 balls left as Manudi Dulansa 28 and Shani Madushika 22 did well with the bat for the Morartuwa team.

The play off for the third place which too was played at the same venue had St. Joseph’s Convent beat Dharmapala girls by eight wickets. Dharmapala batting first were restricted to 85 runs which came in only 18. 1 overs. Achini Kumari was the main wrecker taking six wickets giving away only three runs while her other bowling partners Priyanthi Kumari and Randi Kumari captured two wickets each.

St. Joseph’s Girls reached the target in only 13.4 overs.


Kegalu BMV 158/6 (Dilshani Kumarasiri 50 n.o., Gimhani Munaweera 30)

Princess of Wales 159/6 (Manudi Dulanksa 28, Shani Dilhani 22 Dilshani Kumarasiri 2/28)

Third place play off:

Dharmapala BMV 85 (Harshini Praboda 22, Achini Kumari 6/3, Randi Vasana 2/13, Priyanthi Kumari 2/12)

St. Joseph’s Convent 88/2 13.2 overs (Randi Vasana 29 n.o)