Eagles hover over Colombo in football final | Sunday Observer

Eagles hover over Colombo in football final

30 August, 2020
Colombo FC
Colombo FC


Colombo FC: Raumi Mohideen, BMCB Ratnayake, Niran Kanishka, Zarwan Johar, MNM Rilwan, Nazeer Imran, MNM Fazal, Afeel Mohamed, NAM Adil, Buddhka Perera, Ahamed Shazny, Siraj Jain, Safran Sattar, Mohamed, Aakib, MSM Shakeer, Shabeer Razooniya, Haleem Ramlan, MIM Musharaf, Abdul Basith, Dinesh Suren, Fayak Asim, Bodric Dimihri, Furic Momas.

Blue Eagles SC: Ruwan Arunasiri, MSM Zinal, Lakmal Gunasinghe, Kavindu Ishan, Chathuranga Fernando, Jeewantha Fernando, Chamith Dissanayake, Nethma Malshan, Madushan Fernando, Harsha Fernando, Chalana Pramantha, DDMM Premachandra, Nuwan Welgamage, Krishan Dhanushka, DK Duminda, Shanak Wijesena, Damith Dissanayake, Chamal Mendis, Gimhana Attanayake, Amalakshan Fernando.

How lucky will Blue Eagles Sports Club be when they take on Colombo Football Club in the final of the Vantage FFSL President’s Cup on Wednesday (September 2) at the Sugathadasa Stadium with kick-off at 6.30 pm.

Blues Eagles are considered lucky because they lost the quarter-final game against New Star SC, but after lodging a protest regarding a player fielded by New Star SC the tournament committee reversed the decision after they found the player had impersonated during an inquiry.

Even at the end of the semi-final clash against Java Lane SC the result had to be decided on the penalty tie breaker after the game ended 2-2 at the final whistle.

Blue Eagles were made to fight all the way in the second half as Java Lane were on top up to that stage. The Airmen played attacking soccer specially the strikers excelling to bring them the goals to equalize.

Referee Lakmal Weerakkody introduced the tie breaker here and Java Lane scored two out of the three kicks at goal. Eagles’ strikers were on target to overcome Java Lane SC and reach the final.

The second semi-final between Colombo FC and Red Star SC also saw the game end in a 2-2 draw at the final whistle. The penalty tie breaker was enforced to decide the winner. Colombo FC kicked more accurately and finished winners to enter the final.

Judging by the pattern of play from both finalists the final is certain to produce an exciting brand of football for the fans to enjoy after a long lapse of time.

The strikers of both teams displayed great skills at the semi-finals and either side will look to clinch the first ever Vantage President’s Cup.

The addition of foreign players in either side will add to the spectacle.

Colombo FC’s strikers Mohamed Aakib and Shakeer Razooniya will be the main threat for Eagles SC’s defence as they are capable of penetrating any strong defence. If the mid fielders play their part well the two teams will have to find the right target to score.

The main players who are capable of bringing glory to Blue Eagles SC will be skipper LH Kavindu and Nithma Malshan who are expected to deliver the goods.