Trinity keep faith in incumbent rugby chief Pathirane | Sunday Observer

Trinity keep faith in incumbent rugby chief Pathirane

27 September, 2020
Channa Pathirane
Channa Pathirane

Old Trinitians Rugby Scrummage yesterday elected Channa Pathirane as its Chairman for the second time and called for an end to politics with emphasis on rebuilding the image of Trinity College rugby.

Pathirane stressed that what was most important was leadership and transparency to take the sport forward with honesty.

“All must be united in the drive to make this great sport even better, simpler, safer and more accessible. We must listen to players, fans, competitions and progress and take decisions that are in the best interests of all with our strong values to the fore,” said Pathirane.

The new Executive Committee comprises Channa Pathirane (Chairman), Ashan Ratwatte and Thakshila Hettiarachchi (Vice Presidents), Susith Enock (Secretary), Asanka Ranhotti (Treasurer) and the committee made out of past players Amil Ramanathan, NLK Ratnayake, Janinda Dunuwille, BNR Fernando, Lakmal Tennakoon, SW Chang, Murad Ramzeen, Nishantha Wickramage, Duminda Silva, Rashen Bandranayake, Ryle Madena, Lochana Gamage, Madushanka Ranatunga.

The election was held yesterday at the CR and FC old club house in Colombo.

Old Trinitians Rugby Scrummage (OTRS) is an organization affiliated to the Old Boys Association of Trinity College, Kandy and manages rugby across all age groups at the school under the guidance of its principal.

It remains responsible in the areas of management, fund-raising, administration and coaching of rugby at Trinity.

Pathirane played for Trinity with the likes of Bindu Dandeniya, Rohan Ranaraja, Thaksala Hettiarachchi, Shammi Upendra, Anuruddha Abeywickrema, Prabath Harshakumara, Manjula Wijesinghe, Samantha Ratwatte, Noel Abrahams, Riza Odayar, Suren Ching, Krishantha Bandaranayake, Sardha Attanayake, Yohan Wijetilleke and Nilanka Nanayakkara.