Online Women Rapid Team Chess Cup 2021 | Sunday Observer

Online Women Rapid Team Chess Cup 2021

17 January, 2021

The CFSL Online Women Rapid Team Chess Cup 2021 started last Thursday successfully completing the largest online National event, CFSL Online Rapid Chess Cup in December 2020.

The Women’s event commenced with 55 teams consisting of 275 players competing in four stages and was organized with the support of under anti-cheating rules and regulations.

The Chess Federation is awarding the Gold, Silver and Bronze medals to the top three teams of each Division and a total of Rs. 35,000 award is offered for the winners of the finals stage to be held on January 24.

A live commentary on the CFSL Youtube channel is also arranged for the semi finals and final by two former National Chess Champions, Dulan

Edirisinghe and FM Rajeendra Kalugampitiya. (DR)


The following teams qualified for the next round:

Champion - Knights Kingdom Chess Academy
1. Bandara WASVT
2. Bandara WADR
3. Rukmaldeniya Sadewmi
4. Amarasena Senuli Saranya
5. Amarasena Nethali Supunya

First Runner Up - Deyon Platinum Chess Club
1. Abeykoon AJT
2. Ratnayake UGKT
3. Karunathilake Siluni
4. Punchihewa Kanchuki Savindya

Second Runner up - Deyon Gold Chess Club
1. Geekiyanage YT
2. Prathapaarachchi Gayali Lakmini
3. Amarakeerthi Wethara Wosandi
4. Gunarathna Keyara Onithi