Top Colombo schools to contest Zahira soccer Sevens | Page 3 | Sunday Observer

Top Colombo schools to contest Zahira soccer Sevens

25 September, 2022

Zahira College that is famous for producing football players of national standard, has come forward once again to organize their famous Super 16 Soccer 7s championship at the Race Course Stadium on October 1.

This is also the sixteenth time that they are organizing this tournament without a break. Only once were they not able to hold this tournament due to the spread of the pandemic last year.

This year the Past Prefects’ Association of Zahira College will conduct the tournament that will be named the Deedat 16th Zahira Super 16 Soccer 7s and the date also coincides with International Children’s Day.

Due to the current situation in the country, the organizing committee has decided to invite schools only from the western province. Hence 16 leading football playing schools from this province will be part and parcel of this prestigious tournament.

They will also get an opportunity to showcase their talents, skills and abilities in football at an international venue and playing in front of a large crowd. This will also offer an opportunity for the young players to shine and catch the eyes of the national authorities.

‘Deedat’ of No Limit fame will be the title sponsor of this prestigious tournament. Trainocate is the Gold sponsor and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) is the Silver sponsor. A few other sponsors have also chipped in.

This tournament was started in 2005 with the intention of grooming schools soccer players to reach higher standards and represent the country.

More than 35 schools have participated in past years. The Past Prefects Association of Zahira has also donated balls to participating teams.

These particulars were revealed at a media briefing held at the Zahira College main hall on Thursday (22).

St. Joseph’s College emerged champions the last time. The draw was also held and jerseys were presented to the schools teams.

The 16 teams were drawn into four groups as follows:

Group A: St. Joseph’s, Al Hikma College, Maris Stella Negombo and Hindu College Colombo.
Group B: S. Thomas’, Lyceum Nugegoda, Alethea Int. School and St. Benedict’s.

Group C: Zahira College, Darussalam College, DS Senanayake College and De Mazenod College.
Group D: Gateway College, Wesley College, Royal College and Isipathana College.